EEO/No FEAR Act & Whistleblower Protection Acts

The No Fear Act (2012) and Whistleblower Protection Enhancement Act (2012) are two vitally important acts that were passed for areas that fall under the United States territories. While the Cascadian Department of Bioregional Affairs is not required to comply with these act, we feel that these two protections are important enough that every Cascadian citizen should read and understand the impact.

On May 15, 2002, then-President Bush signed into law the Notification and Federal Employee Anti-Discrimination and Retaliation (No FEAR) Act to increase federal agency accountability for acts of discrimination or reprisal against employees. The No FEAR Act became effective on October 1, 2003.

This act requires that federal agencies post on their public Web sites certain summary statistical data relating to equal employment opportunity complaints filed against the respective agencies.

The State Department’s public website contains this statistical information in accordance with the No FEAR Act. This data is updated on a quarterly basis. The latest report can be viewed here.

For questions concerning this data, please contact the Office of Civil Rights at

For information regarding the Whistleblower Protection Enhancement Act of 2012, including the Department’s obligations regarding the implementation and enforcement of nondisclosure agreements consistent with federal whistleblower protections, learn more on the Whistleblower Protection Enhancement Act page.